Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Dads Got This

My Husband's Passion For Fishing Has Our Family Hooked

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

1974b340a0e89ea59370adcd71fd76258b5603b2.jpg

My husband is a fisherman. Not by trade, but certainly by hobby.

He grew up in Seattle, so for him, fishing in the Pacific Ocean was a regular thing. It is something my husband and his dad still enjoy doing together when they get the chance.

Recently when the perfect little used boat became available for the right price, we jumped at the chance to own it.

Personally, fishing has never been something I’ve gotten that excited about. It seems like a lot of effort (and sort of mean) to hook some poor, unassuming fish who was tricked into taking an innocent bite. I’d hate to end up with a hook in my lip after taking a big bite of a good-looking donut, after all.

Of course, it's fair to say that I never mastered my fishing skills: My one memory of fishing as a child consists of tying a piece of string to a stick and wondering why the fish didn't bite.

6b45c5ced55f25ad836348b55da2bde4dcf8aac0.jpg

Nevertheless, when my husband’s career brought us right smack dab in the middle of the country, he had to trade salmon fishing in the Pacific for Midwestern lake bass fishing. And though we don't have a large lake in our town, we do have a pretty little lake that's just big enough for a (very) small motor boat. That little lake and boat are all my husband needs to satisfy the fishing desire deep within his soul.

So we join him.

Sometimes all of us, or sometimes he just takes one or two kids. Either way, his fishing passion is contagious.

While aboard that little boat, I watch the man I love invest in our children in a positive way. He desires that they learn a skill he learned from his father, and thus, he is passing down a tangible form of his love.