Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Open Discussion

How to Accept a Compliment

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

b4ae31ddf0ef633736a93a4440e32aaed0367acb.png

I’m not very good at accepting a compliment. I get all weird and I never 100% believe that the compliment is true. There’s often a little part of me that thinks it’s a joke. But you know what makes me feel pretty good about myself? Getting a compliment. Go figure.

Compliments are an unnecessary but powerful kindness. Let’s not place our value in praise from others, but let’s not shirk it away either. Let’s lift each other up. Let’s raise a glass. Let’s pat each other on the back. Let’s cheer each other on. Let’s be unnecessarily kind.

So how are we supposed to do that?

Just accept the compliment. This is not high school. Your people are not making fun of you. Your friend’s compliment is not a trick to make you look like a fool. Your sister-in-law really does think you are smart. Your husband really does think you are hot. That stranger in Target that stopped to tell you that your curly hair is beautiful? She had exactly zero motivation to lie. TAKE THE COMPLIMENT. These things are meant to build you up. People can be so kind if you let them. So let them.