Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Extraordinary Teachers

The Teachers I'll Never Forget

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

5ea901d168a94b901b6689c40f7e32af51179de5.jpg

Eighteen years of education, ten schools and over thirty-some-odd teachers. From preschool to graduate school, I studied under an array of educators, many influential in my development, both positive and negative. I've had the teacher who told me I could be anything I dreamed, from painter to president. And I have also had the teacher who told me the exact thing I desired to be, was not a suitable career for my skills and abilities (in her opinion). I'm not certain which inspired me more, the former or the latter, but they were all extraordinary in their own right.

Selecting a standout candidate from the long list of educators I've encountered isn't the easiest decision to make. Mainly because my memory isn't what it used to be (eh hem, "mom brain" I believe it's called, I cant remember?!!). Yet it's not necessarily a challenge either. There was my third grade teacher who taught me that taking pride in my work and myself was more valuable than the row of gold stars next to my name; my high school Geometry teacher who helped me realize I wasn't bad at math, but a visual learner who needed a different approach; and, there was the college professor who encouraged me to submit my writing to a professional journal and ordered the second copy of my published work (I got the first). These are a few that come to mind, and I know there were countless others who understood the impact of their role extended beyond the classroom.