Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Open Discussion

A New Photography Trend: In-Home Family Lifestyle Sessions

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

A couple years ago I noticed that the new trend for newborn photography was capturing parents with their precious little one in his or her nursery and around the home. I thought this was so beautiful, natural, and raw, so I started playing with the idea of doing a shoot similar to this one day.

3416af5e68b73898583b7ba0bc8fe5c81b85c349.jpg

Instead of newborn photography, it would be photography that would capture a season in our lives that I always want to remember: our girls being little, in the house we’ve worked so hard to make the cozy retreat that it is, with a few pictures that show my husband with our girls in his Army uniform as an active duty soldier, something they will likely have few to no memories of (but an experience that has shaped my husband and me in every possible way).

Photoshoot at home: Around the table

The next step was finding the photographer. I found her on Instagram about a year ago, and I instantly knew that she was it. I fell in love with her style, editing, angles, story telling, and more. I was captivated by her and her work!

5709b614d7db80c190a0a6d870c5721d7233588b.jpg

So I reached out last fall, told her what I was dreaming of, and she couldn’t have been kinder or more confident that she could make this happen. Next, she offered a quote.

Though I found her prices reasonable, I was super nervous about making that kind of investment "just" to photograph my little family. I kept talking myself out of it about how we could use that money to go on a short weekend adventure or buy something useful for the house, but my mind changed when I was having dinner one night with a dear friend and her mom (who is a professional photographer in Iowa).