Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Open Discussion

Happy Graduation

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

It feels surreal, doesn’t it. It’s finally here. Finally.

I graduated 18 years ago. This means I’ve been out of high school for your entire life. “Enjoy these years, they’ll go so fast”, everyone kept saying. Someday you’ll realize why.

2d3efdb91d587ebaf60ea7a2accb39f8a4ce7799.jpeg

The girls in this picture were once 18 and ready to take on the world. We were leaving home and never coming back, at least not anytime soon. We had no idea what our lives had in store. We had no idea it would all go this fast.

I am so proud of you. You are an exceptional human. I’m so sad to see you leave home but the world has big plans for you and you are so ready.

It’s hard to leave these friends, you’ve had them literally your entire life. Here’s a secret about these friends – you’ll have them forever. You can’t make old friends and you’ll realize this more as the years go by. There's comfort in their familiarity that you won't find anywhere else. You might drift apart as your lives find their paths, but you find your way back. They'll forever be some of your greatest friends, regardless of the distance in between.

7bc56839babfa44bc7a1f0cf29899398c31d890f.jpg

I want you to realize that so many of the most important people in your life you have yet to meet. I can’t wait for you to meet your college friends. Some of them you’ll feel like you’ve always known. Make the most of your time with them because you’ll all go your separate ways when it’s over. You say with the best of intentions that you’ll see each other soon. Soon will turn into a decade, maybe two. So go to the games with them. When they invite you to their hometown for a three-day weekend, go.