Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Why I Love My Mom Bod

Redefining Beauty by Walking Away from Shame

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

My relationship to beauty and satisfaction with my body has always been complicated at best. I was raised in the Deep South by women who dared not leave the house without “putting on their face” first. Then, I worked as a model and actress in LA…which will obviously mess anyone up! It seemed all that would end when I had a baby at age 25. But it would ALL literally nearly end when I suffered a catastrophic brainstem stroke out of the blue six months later.

0a88d500a79a62646e5500185806aa2b800bf8f7.png

In the blink of an eye, I could no longer walk, talk, eat, drive, or care for my son. The post-partum pooch and bags under my sleep-deprived eyes suddenly paled in comparison to the reality that my body and brain no longer worked like they used to. Pregnancy and new motherhood had changed my body distinctly. Now, after the near-fatal stroke, the body in which I lived was not only different but altogether unknown and unsafe. Where do you run when your own body turns on you?

acd2a4edebc1a31260801416941d00efebb55e5f.jpg

Over years spent in rehab, I learned new ways of navigating the world in my modified state. But, even in the healing and adapting, so many disabilities remained. My face is paralyzed on the right side. I can’t walk well and mostly require a wheelchair to get around. I can’t drive. I have severe double-vision and lack fine motor control is my right hand. I struggled to love my body when it was “normal”. How was I expected to love it now?