Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Infertility

Guilt

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

Dylan, thank you so much for putting yourself out there in this piece. I am a nurse practitioner at a large medical center in Philadelphia, and you hit the nail on the head when you said you had to put the smile on and proceed with the day "because that is what we do" . Being in the medical profession, and specifically in cardiology, I have to put myself out there to be the strength for my patients and put myself last. I have to be the leader of hope and help my patients through their pain, while masking my own from both them and my colleagues. I am the proud mother of a 2.5 year old. I had gotten pregnant and had my baby while watching your little bundle of joy come to the world. My journey to my little one took 2 years to make. I had been diagnosed with PCOS. I felt betrayed, like someone "should have told me about this" maybe I wouldn't have "waited so long" until I was 30 to have a child, like somehow there was something "I" could have or should have done to prevent this. And I had one week in my life, that I will never forget. When I was waiting for my pregnancy test and then got my period, on that week I had found out one of my best friends was having twins on her 3rd pregnancy, my other girlfriend was pregnant with her 3rd child and my sister got pregnant with her second child...all within a 7 day stretch. I felt completely defeated and mad at myself for feeling like I should be happy for them but unable to muster the emotion to. My little guy did come though. And he came on his own terms when we had taken a break from infertility meds because I couldn't take the ache anymore. I to this day cannot understand as a medical professional how he came. To me, he is divine and meant to be. We named him a name that means light and warrior because he was the lig