Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: WHO Are You?

Why I Left My Teaching Job to Become A Stay-At-Home Mom

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

Prior to becoming a mom, I used to be a first grade teacher. I taught for 14 years and for the most part- loved it. I wouldn't say I loved every minute of it. If we're being honest here and if you're a teacher, you know what I'm talking about. But I did enjoy it and found great joy and fulfillment in it. I knew that once I became a mom, I would have to make a decision of whether to continue teaching or become a stay-at-home mom.

Teaching, stay at home mom, mommy blog,

So why did I leave my job if I loved it? Why did I decide to become a stay-at-home mom? There were many reasons so I'll try to explain a few of the top reasons why I left my teaching job to become a stay-at-home mom.

Desire to spend time with my child.

Growing up, my parents worked all the time. My family immigrated to the United States in the 80s. My parents worked at menial jobs and eventually became business owners when I was in high school. But they were always working.

My older brother and I were latchkey kids and were often home alone in upper elementary school. So I knew when I had my own family, I wanted to spend time with my kids more and be there for special moments and school activities. I wanted to be able to go to school functions, playdates, and have a better relationship with my own child by spending time with her. I know that staying home is considered a luxury and I don't take it for granted. Thankfully, my husband and I were able to work things out so that I can stay home. But this is probably my number one reason for wanting to stay home and be a stay-at-home mom- I didn't want to miss out on her childhood.

I didn't think I would be good at both.