Parents, you’ve got questions, we’ve got answers.

Or just as likely, we’ve got questions and you’ve got answers.

Challenge: Sleep Solutions

Nothing Lasts Forever- Dealing With Our Children's Sleep Challenges

Vote up!
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email this article

I typically offer one valuable suggestion when talking to new parents, and it has nothing to do with what to add to the registry. Nope. What I tell myself while raising four small kids, along with whoever else will listen, is....don't get used to anything, because nothing lasts forever. While this is actually a pretty decent metaphor for life, it can also help us deal with our little ones' sleep challenges. Your mind will immediately want to label this piece of advice as good or bad, but it is actually neither. It just is.

I was a different type of parent to my first child than I currently am. As a novice I wanted to figure everything out. I wanted to figure out why last night he gave me a 6 hr stretch but tonight he wanted to eat every 45 minutes. I would use my valuable energy looking in books, asking other moms and scouring the Internet to figure out how to handle his (and my) sleep challenges. I NEEDED to know why one day he could give me enough naps to fulfill all my TV binge watching needs and the very next day he had such difficulty napping that I didn't even have a chance to brush my teeth. Must be a growth spurt! Oh wait I know, he's teething! Oh no, I think he's getting sick!! What I realize now is that by the time I had it "figured out" he was sleeping better anyway, and was also probably offering me some other kind of challenge. Fast forward seven years and 3 more children later and I handle all things thrown my way in a much more accepting fashion. Once I stopped trying to fix and label the current situation and accepted and experienced whatever I encountered, I was a more peaceful parent and had a more peaceful child. I never allowed myself to "get used to" the sleeping wins or th